Riverside Tennis Club runs an annual winter closed tournament called The Floodlight League. It is played on Monday and Tuesday evenings from October till March.  It includes players from all abilities divided in teams of four – A, B, C and D players.  On the day there are three rounds to be played, each round consisting of two sets of doubles.

PROCEDURES FOR FLOODLIGHT LEAGUE MATCHES

Teams 2018 / 2019

Name A Player B Player C Player D Player
Holly Alastair Brain Sarah George *Bob Gardner* Liz Derry
Birch Chris Malata James Bell Nicki Davey *Hilary Thomas*
Elm James Simpson Cameron Simpson *Mike Scott* Nicola Heron
Oak Ken Isaacs John Baker *Chris Hewitt* Carolyn Langley
Walnut Martin Smith *Tony Loader* Gordon Watt Kim Chester
Sycamore *Peter Chattaway* Ant Derry Pauline Donne Joe Browne
Poplar Robert Rayner John Armitage Sara Brightman *David Simmonds*
Maple *Simon Stone* Martin Lee Pam Clemett Sal Etherington
Ash Steve Archer Mike Bath *Melinda Simmonds* Julie Kane
Chestnut Tom Hill *Jeremy Naylor* Philippa Bell Alan Cininas

Table after 2nd round

Team Played Won Drawn Lost Set Dif Game Dif Points
Elm 2 1 1 0 +4 +15 3
Walnut 2 1 1 0 +2 +9 3
Birch 2 1 1 0 +2 +5 3
Sycamore 2 1 0 1 +4 +20 2
Chestnut 2 1 0 1 +4 +16 2
Poplar 2 0 2 0 0 +1 2
Oak 2 0 2 0 0 -2 2
Ash 2 1 0 1 -4 -21 2
Maple 2 0 1 1 -6 -25 1
Holly 2 0 0 2 -6 -18 0

Fixtures & Results 2018/ 2019

Date Match Result
Mon 22 Oct Holly v Birch 2-4
Oak v Elm 3-3
Tue 23 Oct Poplar v Maple 3-3
Mon 29 Oct Sycamore v Walnut 2-4
Ash v Chestnut 4-2
Mon 5 Nov Elm v Holly 5-1
Birch v Oak 3-3
Mon 12 Nov Sycamore v Ash 6-0
Chestnut v Maple 6-0
Tue 13 Nov Walnut v Poplar 3-3
Mon 19 Nov Walnut v Holly rained off – Mon 17 Dec
Sycamore v Birch rained off – Tue 18 Dec
Mon 26 Nov Elm v Ash 2-4
Maple v Oak 1-5
Tue 27 Nov Chestnut v Poplar 2-4
Mon 3 Dec Oak v Holly 3-3
Birch v Elm 1-5
Mon 10 Dec Maple v Walnut 0-6
Sycamore v Chestnut 4-2
Tue 11 Dec Ash v Poplar 5-1
Mon 7 Jan Ash v Birch
Holly v Maple
Mon 14 Jan Oak v Sycamore
Chestnut v Walnut
Tue 15 Jan Poplar v Elm
Mon 21 Jan Oak v Ash
Elm v Walnut
Mon 28 Jan Maple v Sycamore
Chestnut v Birch
Tue 29 Jan Poplar v Holly
Mon 4 Feb Elm v Chestnut
Holly v Sycamore
Mon 11 Feb Ash v Maple
Oak v Walnut
Tue 12 Feb Poplar v Birch
Mon 25 Feb Sycamore v Poplar
Oak v Chestnut
Mon 4 Mar Ash v Holly
Birch v Walnut
Tue 5 Mar Maple v Elm
Mon 11 Mar Birch v Maple
Poplar v Oak
Mon 18 Mar Elm v Sycamore
Walnut v Ash
Tue 19 Mar Chestnut v Holly